top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLénaelle Pestipont

The perfect place for bike lovers

Updated: Mar 23, 2022

When we picture the Netherlands, we think of flowers, the high English level of the inhabitants, rainy weather... and of course, last but not least, bikes!


Indeed, it is not a myth at all: the Netherlands is really the country of the bicycle. Groningen is even the city with the most bicycles per inhabitant: each inhabitant owns on average 1.4 bicycles.


1,4 bike per inhabitant in Groningen


When I arrived here, I was amazed to see these bikes parked everywhere on the roadside, in the streets, on the squares. The main square of Groningen called Grote Markt (Big Square in Dutch) is, on Saturdays, completely invaded by bikes. Moreover, there are huge places in the Netherlands completely dedicated to bicycles, especially near the train stations.




There are bike lanes everywhere with special stop lights for cyclists. I was very surprised when I arrived to see that there was a whole code of the road for the bicycle. However, this now seems completely normal to me and in line with the number of cyclists there are in the city. Cycling is really the mode of transportation used by everyone here. In the Netherlands, Dutch students have all free public transport while studying. We would imagine that many Dutch students would therefore take the bus especially when it rains. But no! Whether it's raining, windy or snowing, the Dutch get out their bikes. They are also very well equipped. Indeed, I was quite confused at the beginning when I was on my bike and it started to rain, to see people getting off their bike and putting on rain pants that they just magically got out of their bag.


It's very funny to see all the things the Dutch can do with their bikes. Carrying a Christmas tree, small furniture, piles of cardboard boxes... with a bike, nothing stops the Dutch!



Once I even saw a father holding his two children who were sitting on the top tube. He was also holding his youngest child, approximately 3 years old, under his right arm while he was holding the handlebars of the bike with his left arm.

On Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights, the days when students go out the most, many drunken students sit behind their tipsy friends who are riding their bikes in a slight zigzag.


Before I came here, the last time I had used my bike was probably two or three years ago. When I told my Dutch friends about it, they were shocked. It's true that now, it seems unbelievable to spend even a week without using my bike. On average, I cycle for an hour or more a day. The trips to the university and the office each take me about 15 minutes from my home, knowing that these two places are located on opposite sides of town. Also, I have a lot of activities that require me to use my bike a lot. So I can say that on this point, I have adopted the Dutch way of life because now it would be unthinkable for me not to use my bike which has become essential in all my daily trips.


Cycling a lot is also a way to stay in shape. Indeed, after a year and a half of Covid where my movements were very limited, I really like the fact that I can use my body to move even over long distances and not have to sit passively on the bus and train for an hour and a half. It's true that I was used to doing a lot of transportation per day. To go to the IUT, I used to take an average of three and a half hours of transportation per day, both ways. These trips are tiring and frustrating because as a passenger we are not in control. We are dependent on traffic. My buses were never on time and often canceled, and the same for the RER on which I often encountered problems.


Now that I live here, I am the one who is in control of my time. I leave at the time I want. I don't have to rush to get a bus or a train. I don't have to look at the timetable. I can go home when I want without thinking at the time the last bus is. Basically, using my bike gives me a real sense of freedom that is very enjoyable in my daily life.


The bicycle allows you to exercise without even realizing that you are doing it, to get around very easily at a minimum cost and simply to gain independence and freedom.


So, what are you waiting for to start cycling?


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page